Happy New Year!

It’s January 1, 2011 and I’m at the Sivananda ashram in Kerala, India.  We ushered the New Year in with some fireworks by the lake and chanting, and this morning at 5AM I went to a New Year’s puja and a purifying agnihotra ceremony.  It was definitely difficult to wake up at 4:30AM (having gone to bed around 1AM) and sit for 2.5 hours, but I’m glad I did everything.  The ceremony was very quiet and it gave me a chance to think and meditate on all the things and people I am thankful for, and to feel hopeful and excited for all the new adventures I look forward to in 2011.

Morning puja on New Year's Day, 2011

I’ve been here for about 10 days now and I’ll be packing up again soon.  I spent Christmas and New Years here, and have seen and learned so much.  Tomorrow I’m going on a full day excursion to Kanyakumari (southern most tip of India) and I expect another fun and interesting day.  Next Monday I’ll be heading out to see what Kerala is all about.  I’m looking forward to my trip up the coast of Kerala but I’m a bit sad that my time at the Sivananda ashram is coming to an end…  I met some wonderful people here and I will miss their smiles and their spirit.  Maybe one day I will return again.

Fireworks on New Year's Eve

This entry was posted in 2011, India, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. george says:

    your Ashram sounds like the sort of place Jean Paul and I should spend a week or two!!! Good for the body and soul.
    Sally and I have visited Kerala a couple of times and love it, also been to the southern most point in India..make sure you go to Cochin…I would like to rent a house on the waterways for a few weeks…keep up the writings…I need my daily fix!! Jorge..Spanish lessons restart Monday!!!

    • dreamgolive says:

      hi George! I actually had FUN at this ashram… I can’t believe it! I think we should all do it together next year- you, Sally, Christiane, JP, and me. I rented a houseboat yesterday and today, I’m at a heritage home on an island in Allepey. It’s a 150 year old house but updated for modern conveniences, including wi-fi. I’ll be updating my blog shortly! Thanks for reading….

  2. travelingmad says:

    Nice blog and great pic.

    That’s how New Year’s Eve should be spent, quiet and reflective.
    Lucky you. Continue to enjoy India.

  3. Paula says:

    Houseboat? That sounds completely fun! I’m picturing Cary Grant and Sophie Loren in the movie Houseboat… one of my favorites! Maybe you’ll meet your future Cary Grant/Javier Bardem soon!

Leave a Reply

