Green Spaces

I love green spaces in big cities.  I’m always surprised and happy to hear a tourist looking to spend time in New York’s Central Park.  I forget that it’s a major New York attraction just as the Statue of Liberty or the Empire State Building are (never visited in my 14 years of living in Manhattan).  I think for many years I took it for granted that I had access to such a wonderful park just a few blocks away from my apartment.  It was during the two years I took off work that I really discovered what I was missing and I made sure I went to the park several times a week.  Now that I don’t live in New York anymore Central Park is a must-visit destination for me whenever I’m back in the city.  One of the reasons I chose to live in my current apartment in Buenos Aires is the proximity to the huge green space nearby, in what they call the Bosques de Palermo (also known as Parque Tres de Febrero)  It’s 25 hectares (62 acres) of grass, plants, flowers, gardens, and lakes.  It’s not nearly as large as New York’s Central Park (843 acres) but it’s a wonderful area for this big city.  I have yet to see nearly enough of it because it’s been so hot, but I can’t wait to spend more time there.

Last night I was talking to someone who is planning a trip to New York and when I got back home, I found myself looking through some of the photos I’d taken in Central Park in early December.  It’s gorgeous any time of the year, but I remember being struck by how peaceful and lovely it was….

View of Central Park South

The Mall

The photo used for the homepage header for my blog is also from walking through Central Park with my friend Janice in December.

I’ll miss the tender green leaves spouting again in March and the delicate pink cherry blossoms in April, but I hope to return to see the park in its full lush green glory this summer.

Official Website for Central Park New York: www.centralparknyc.org

This entry was posted in 2012, Argentina, Travel, USA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

