Mira Vida Soho Hotel Wine Bar

Last Sunday before dinner I met some friends at Mira Vida Soho Hotel Wine Bar for a drink.  This little boutique hotel is just a few blocks away from all the hustle and bustle of Palermo Soho but it’s so quiet on that street you may as well be in a different neighborhood altogether.  The hotel offers just 6 rooms and it felt as if I was visiting someone’s large house; I had to ring the doorbell for someone to open the door for me.

I could see the wine bar tucked away in the back from the small reception area.  There was a cute patio area outside, but it was still hot and humid that our party of four opted to stay in the cool air conditioned room.  The bar room was quite small and quaint, giving off an air of a cozy salon where proper English tea is served in the afternoon.  The English speaking staff (turns out she’s a fellow New Yorker) recommended a Colomé Torrontés, which we happily accepted.  I’m definitely a Torrontés fan and in New York my usual go-to Torrontés was from Crios.  This Colomé Torrontés was my first white wine in Argentina and I was excited to try it.  You can easily to spend $20 for a GLASS of wine at a hotel bar in New York so when I saw the price for the bottle here at $18 USD I thought it was a bargain.  On top of that, I’ve seen this Colomé Torrontés sell for 58 pesos at a supermarket (~$14USD which means they only marked it up 30%); apparently the 300% mark-up from New York is not the norm everywhere.  Is that why I see so many New York transplants in Buenos Aires!?

As for the wine itself, it smelled intensely flowery and sweet that I was afraid it wouldn’t be dry enough but I was wrong.  While I thought it was quite fruity for a Torrontes, it was fresh and delicious.  I wouldn’t hesitate to get it again.

I saw on the chalk board that they have Durigutti Bonardas, which I’ve been meaning to try…  This wine bar is a nice place to have a quiet conversation (it will have to be in hushed whispers since the tables are very close to each other) or even come alone with a book.  Definitely a great pre-dinner drink spot.  Their website says they offer wine tastings every week, which I may inquire about.

For more information on Bodega Colomé: www.bodegacolome.com  I can’t wait to go to Salta!

Mira Vida Soho Hotel & Wine BarDarregueyra 2050 (@ Guatemala), Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires

This entry was posted in 2012, Argentina, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mira Vida Soho Hotel Wine Bar

  1. Ooh I don’t know if I’ve ever had a wine that is “flowery” but it sounds interesting!

  2. dreamgolive says:

    hi there the finestglow! As you can imagine I’ve been drinking nothing but Argentine wines for the past few weeks. If you can find them in the states, please do try a few Malbecs, Bonardas, and Torrontes. I also had a nice Syrah this past weekend, which I will post under my review of a closed-door restaurant I visited. Argentine wines keep surprising me and I think you’ll like them, too.

  3. Dean says:

    If you haven’t gone to one of the wine tastings at Mira Vida yet, you should. Davin, the sommelier, is very knowledgeable, and essentially takes you on a wine tour of Argentina, sampling some really interesting (and delicious) wines from Salta, Mendoza, and Patagonia. It makes for a really nice night out.

    • dreamgolive says:

      I haven’t done any wine tastings at all! It would be lovely to do it at Mira Vida. Thank you so much for the suggestion- I’m going to go check it out in the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

