Doors on Juncal

About three times a week I walk from Palermo to Recoleta to go to my yoga class.  Recoleta is a beautiful neighborhood with gorgeous French style buildings and I can wander around the streets there for hours looking up at ornate balconies and windows with long skinny shutters.

I usually take a residential street named Juncal because it’s quieter and nicer than the bigger avenues with all the buses and cars.  Today I happened to have my camera with me so I took photos of what I came across on Juncal, but mostly of doors and door knobs.  I am fascinated by all the giant doors in Buenos Aires.

Each building has a unique door that matches the style of the building; some are large and majestic, some are dainty and cute, some are quite elegant, some are heavy and masculine.  I love that they all require traditional keys to open, even the one at my modern apartment building.  I have yet to see the same set of doors twice.

 

This entry was posted in 2012, Argentina, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doors on Juncal

  1. Dear DGL, I love this post! I’m obsessed with facades, doors and door handles. The green and brass number is a beauty! Your top and bottom shots are pretties. The reflection of the trees pop. Thanks for the “yoga route” tour! Theadora

    • dreamgolive says:

      Thanks Theadora! I felt a bit silly walking around looking at door and staring at door knobs but it’s all those little things that make buenos aires so beautiful… I’m going to take a different street to go to yoga today and see what I find. 🙂

Leave a Reply

