Calle de los Suspiros, Uruguay

There are many Spanish words I love.  Suspiros is one of them.  Suspiros.  I like all the “S”es and when I say the word slowly I can feel the air in the “oo” roll up from my chest as if I am exhaling.  It reminds me of the word’s meaning, sighs.  On Thursday I accompanied two lovely Australians to Colonia del Sacramento in Uruguay and spent the day walking around the sleepy little town where the Street of Sighs (Calle de los Suspiros) lies by the waterfront.  There are several legends as to how this cobblestone street got its name; one tells a story about a young woman who was stabbed in the heart while waiting for her love, one involves ladies of the night who used to lure sailors, and another is about those who were condemned to die being led down this narrow street towards the Rio de la Plata.

A small group of tourists were milling about and taking photos when we were passing by.  I had no intention of joining them, but something compelled my feet to move down the wedged stones and steps of the little street to peak inside a small door.  Bending down deeply to duck into this wine and cheese shop I found myself smiling, looking at shelves of preserves and dulce de leche.  I waved over to my friends to follow me through the dark cave-like house; I knew they’d like what they saw.  We tucked into the backyard of Buen Suspiro and there we stayed for several hours, chatting and drinking Uruguayan wine.  Maybe it was the silent suspiros in the walls and the stones that cast a spell over us, but I felt safe and content sitting there in the shadows.  It was a wonderful way to spend a quiet afternoon away from Buenos Aires.

The murky brown waters of the Rio de la Plata is not very picturesque but the Barrio Histórico (old town) is full of charming houses and tree lined streets.

We came across a few vintage cars, one had trees growing out of it.

A few cute and quaint shops in town.

Old houses and ancient buildings: flat roof means it’s Spanish, angled roof with tiles signifies Portuguese colonial style.

Buen Suspiros: Calle de los Suspiros 90, Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay

A former Portuguese settlement, Colonia del Sacramento is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.  Aboard a high speed ferry, Colonia Express from Buenos Aires takes you there in an hour (~$60 USD round-trip).

This entry was posted in 2012, Argentina, Travel, Uruguay and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Calle de los Suspiros, Uruguay

  1. ksevon says:

    These really are great photos. I love the cars and the colors!

    • dreamgolive says:

      Thank you. It was such a gorgeous day and this little town is a gem. My local friends told me it would be boring so I had little expectations but it turned out to be a wonderful place. I’m thinking of going again in the next few weeks.

  2. lunasealife says:

    Gorgeous photos!

  3. bennettxing says:

    So beautiful! Makes me miss Latin America.

    • dreamgolive says:

      Thanks Chris! I just read your post on Cambodia. I’m glad that you and the kids loved Angkor Wat. Is it not one of the most magical places you’ve ever been? I was also frustrated with how little of it I could capture in photos. Your children are so lucky to have this experience. BTW, everyone here says they can tell I learned Spanish in Mexico (or they say my Spanish is from the “Caribe”) I miss those tacos, the ruins, even the buses. Besos to your whole family!!

  4. These pictures are lovely and so colorful! I went on a cloudy day and, while it was still beautiful, my pictures don’t do it justice like yours do. Interesting tidbit about the different roof types and the origin of the street name.

  5. I have such fond memories of this magical small town 🙂 Your article was really interesting. I wanted to sell everything i got and move there… tranquility around every corner….sigh….

  6. btw i did the same picture of this very same car 🙂 this is how i got here via google pictures … one more nice place to visit from time to time.

Leave a Reply

