Another Busy Week Ends with a Tennis Match

Thursday evening over a couple of spritzers of Aperol at Cucina Paradiso (my favorite new drink at my favorite new Italian place in BA), my friends and I had a big belly laugh talking about how we’d been so “busy.”  Georgia and Tabitha have been living here for 4-5 months on an extended holiday and like me, are traveling and having a blast.  I know.  What a life!

I meant to take it easy after such a fun-filled week last week, but I ended up going out almost everyday.  I had a great dinner with Emily (thanks Clementine!) who introduced me to Jauja, hung out with new and old friends at an InterNations event, enjoyed a healthy lunch at Tea Connection with Mette and her cousin, finally got to have Vietnamese at Green Bamboo, dined on raw vegetarian food at Kensho, and took a day trip to Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay.  Throw in a visit to the Evita Museum, some blogging, reading, and my daily yoga practice, you have my “busy” week…

The weather was absolutely gorgeous this weekend with clear blue skies and cool breezes (almost cool).  I’d wanted to go to the Copa Claro tennis tournament this week but I was so “busy” I didn’t even get around to finding out who was playing well.  So it came as a pleasant surprise when Emily sent me a note asking whether I’d be interested in attending the finals match.  With a couple of e-mails and calls, she organized some of her Dutch friends to go (one of whom I met by chance Wednesday evening at the InterNations mixer) and even went to purchase all the tickets for us.  All I had to do was turn up at the venue at 15:30.  Easy peasy!  Just like that, I had plans to spend the afternoon outdoors with a group of five tall Dutch people watching a tennis match in Buenos Aires.

I took a leisurely walk over to the Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club in Palermo where the tournament was being held.  It was quite small in comparison to the U.S. Open in New York and I was really surprised to see that the venue wasn’t sold out.

The final match was an all Spaniard event, with the first-seeded (ranked 5th in the world) David Ferrer playing his countryman and defending champion Nicolas Almagro (ranked 11th in the world).  Almagro’s serves were right on and he played confidently while Ferrer committed numerous unforced errors that kept him trailing behind.  The crowd was definitely with Ferrer but the first set went to Almagro.  That led to louder chants of “vamo David” ringing out during each break.  Emily said that she heard someone shout out “vamo Rafa” in the beginning, which made all of us laugh.

Ferrer broke Almagro’s serve to start the second set and went on to win the set and ultimately the match.  The famous actor Ricardo Darín of “El Secreto de Sus Ojos” was there to help congratulate the winner but I didn’t get a good look at him.

It was a great way to spend a sunny Sunday afternoon and a nice end to another fantastic week in Buenos Aires.  I’m grateful to everyone who came into my life this week that made each day so special.  Thank you for your kindness and generosity!

This entry was posted in 2012, Argentina, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

