Year Three: On My Way Back to India

November 18, 2012 marked my two year anniversary.  I have now started my third year of living on the road and appropriately, I have been traveling/en-route for the last 22 hours.  My day feels like it’s night and I don’t know whether I should be drinking coffee or have a cocktail or if it’s dinner time or I should even be awake.  This larger-than-life, modern-yet-fairytale like Turkish Airlines lounge in Istanbul isn’t helping me, either.  I feel like I’m dreaming.  A self-playing grand piano stands around the corner next to a 100-year old olive tree, a pink and yellow daycare center gleams on the other side.  There is a prayer room yet a mountain of every kind of alcoholic beverage is staring right at me.  I started this post using one of a dozen Macs lined up for passengers to use and there is food everywhere.  I really wanted to spend a week or more in Turkey before heading to India but instead, all I am afforded this time is four hours in this lounge…

K was nice enough to drive me through holiday traffic to JFK and so far I’ve been to three states (PA, NJ, NY) and three countries (US, Belgium, and Turkey) in less than 24 hours.  I have two more flights (IST to BOM, BOM to CCJ) and a four-hour car ride to my final destination in the mountains of Kerala.  Most people, including K, think I’m a little nuts for going to this Indian ayurvedic center for a 28-day detox program.  But after two years of traveling and living on the road, and to start the second 40 years of my life on the right foot I think I’m doing exactly what I should do.  It’s not so much about the physical purging (although it’s obviously a big part of it); I’m looking forward to the mental and the emotional process my brain and heart will go through.  I know it won’t be easy and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous or a bit anxious, but I really believe this is the right time for me to have this experience.

Madison Square Park, New York, November 17, 2012

I’ll be keeping a journal while I do my panchakarma but I’m not sure how much I will be posting here.  In the next month in India I hope to learn more about myself and be ready to take my third year on the road with renewed vigor.  Taking deep cleansing breaths in anticipation now…

This entry was posted in 2012, India, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Year Three: On My Way Back to India

  1. Clementine Noordzij says:

    Enjoy AYV, hope you have a wonderful time cleansing, contemplating, renewing energy and rest! How I wish I could be there with you… X Big kiss, Clem

    ps: Viviann Seege will be in AYV in december, maybe you will see eachother!!?

    La Cl de Soul Clementine Noordzij Buiten Dommersstraat 32 1013 HW Amsterdam

    M: +31 (0) 6-46 12 88 15 E: info@lacledesoul.com I: http://www.lacledesoul.com

    Op 23 nov. 2012, om 16:28 heeft Dream! Go! Live! het volgende geschreven:

    > >

Leave a Reply

