Yachts, MONA, and Taste

I arrived in Sydney yesterday after spending a few glorious weeks in Tasmania.  I unpacked as soon as I got here but today I’m doing a bit of “nesting” and getting settled into my new apartment.  I slept in for a change, until 9AM, gasp!  I guess having a real bed and brand new linens do contribute to sleeping well…

I still need to finish catching up on my stay in Tassie so let me go back to Hobart and the day I got to do three fun-tabulous things there: watching yachts come into the harbor for the Sydney to Hobart race, visiting MONA, and enjoying the Taste of Tasmania food festival.

I was still used to getting up before 5AM from my days in India so I was the first one up and out of the house this morning.  I decided to walk down Elizabeth street to the waterfront and have a look around.  It was a while before I saw anyone on the sleepy streets of North Hobart.  Along the way I saw these murals on the walls and was reminded of all the street art I used to see in Buenos Aires.

IMG_0126 IMG_0127

IMG_0128

I had forgotten all about the Sydney to Hobart yacht race until I got down to the waterfront and saw this huge boat docked there and saw the camera crews.  I realized that it was the winner of the race and probably the captain of the yacht (Wild Oats XI) being interviewed.

IMG_0136

IMG_0139

J and I decided that we want visit MONA while the rest of the group wanted to take things slow and check out the Taste festival.  The two of us took the ferry over to MONA, had a quick bite to eat at their lovely wine bar, and spend the afternoon looking around the gallery.  I spent 3 hours but it wasn’t nearly enough time to see everything, so two days ago when S & A wanted to go to MONA again I didn’t hesitate to join them for another visit.  Next time (there will be a next time, I hope) I’d love to have a meal at the Source restaurant as well- with A & S, we did manage to squeeze in a brief wine tasting.

On the way to MONA, I spotted two goats and an eagle along the cliffs- no photos, you’ll just have to take my word for it.

P1120018 P1120022 P1120026 P1120027

Good food and fantastic (and provocative) modern art at MONA.

P1120028 P1120041

IMG_0146 IMG_0148IMG_0149 IMG_0152 IMG_0155

It was the start of the Taste (December 28, 2012), an annual Tasmanian food festival I was very much looking forward to.  It was a bit chilly and the rest of our group was already heading home, but after getting back to Hobart J & I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to stop by and take a nibble (and a few sips).  It was worth fighting off the opening day crowd to check out the venue and what the festival had in store for us.  I ended up going back twice more and if I had stayed in town, I probably would have gone everyday.  I guess everyone could tell that we were really enjoying the festival; one afternoon at the Taste, we were even photographed by the local newspaper and our photo appeared in the Mercury on January 2, 2013.  But on my first day at the Taste, I had a couple of great Tasmanian scallops and the largest, juiciest, and delicious mussels ever (KP, the ones from DBGB can’t compare!).

P1120047 P1120048

More good seafood and a day trip around the beautiful Tasman peninsula tomorrow…

Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race: www.rolexsydneyhobart.com

MONA (Museum of Old and New Art): 655 Main Road, Rosetta TAS 7011, Australia

The Taste Festival: www.tastefestival.com.au

This entry was posted in 2012, Australia, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

