Maroubra to Bondi Beach Walk

LW had just one full day left in Sydney before returning to her cold and wintery London, and understandably she wanted to get in a beach day.  Since I was keen on walking from Maroubra to Bondi Beach we decided we would each follow what we were after, and meet up in Bondi when we were finished.  So I took off right after yoga and breakfast to catch a bus* to Maroubra Beach to start walking by 10AM.

Just about 30 minutes later I was looking at the Tasman Sea.  I think it’s amazing that a beautiful beach like this is so close to where I live…

IMG_0916

There was not a cloud in the sky and Maroubra Beach was absolutely beautiful.

IMG_0917

I took a walked down south to the other side of the beach and explored the rocky shores.  I was all alone with the sun, the rocks, and the waves.

IMG_0921 IMG_0922 IMG_0926

Look, lifeguards!  There was a film crew there but it didn’t look like they were shooting “Baywatch.”  Maybe a reality show?

IMG_0928

A giant Rubik’s Cube by the sea at Maroubra Beach.

IMG_0929

It was after 11 when I finally set off for Coogee and I was the only one walking this trail.  Love, love, love!

IMG_0933 IMG_0935 IMG_0940 IMG_0942

I got a bit lost along the way but no matter.  I got to see these little guys..

IMG_0945 IMG_0948 IMG_0949

I see Coogeeeeeee!

IMG_0951 IMG_0953 IMG_0956

I stopped just long enough to walk on the cool wet sands of Coogee Beach.

IMG_0957

Onward to Clovelly, which I thought was so sweet and pretty.  If I were to have a beach day, I’d probably choose Clovelly Beach.

IMG_0958 IMG_0960 IMG_0963

Clovelly Bowling Club– outdoor lawn bowling with this view.  Are you kidding me?  The dark blue you see below is the Tasman Sea!  And I thought Brooklyn Bowl was great…

IMG_0966

A few minutes later I came upon this.  Waverly Cemetery, on the cliffs of Bronte.  By.  The.  Sea.  My jaws dropped and my feet stood still.

IMG_0967 IMG_0971 IMG_0973

It was just too hot and sunny to stop here for long, but I’d love to return another day.  Of course my thoughts went to the cemeteries in BA…  (Chacarita Cemetery, Recoleta Cemetery)

IMG_0975

I was getting hungry and hot, it was nearly 1:30.  A much needed pit stop was made in Bronte at Three Blue Ducks, a cafe/restaurant that I was very much looking forward to checking out.

IMG_0979

I was happily surprised to find Colomé Torrontés on their wine list.  I haven’t posted my trip to Salta and Jujuy in Argentina (yet), but R and I spent an unbelievable afternoon at Colomé.  But since I wasn’t about to drink an entire bottle of Torrontés and I’m keeping myself to Australian wines only, I opted for a glass of SC Panell Sauvignon Blanc from Adelaide Hills.

IMG_0981

I had the crispy skin ocean trout with wakame and cucumber salad, served with wasabi mayo.  I didn’t care much for the mayo, but the trout and the salad were fantastic.  I would happily go back to Three Blue Ducks to try everything else on the menu.  Two very enthusiastic thumbs up!

IMG_0984

I could have stayed there all afternoon but I still had a bit of walking left to do and a date to meet up with LW in Bondi.  So I applied some more sunblock, put on my hat and sunglasses, and set off once again.

IMG_0985IMG_0986

This part of the walk from Bronte Beach (below) to Bondi had noticeably more people.  I was happy that I’d gotten a chance to enjoy a solitary few hours in the morning.

IMG_0989

Walking away from Bronte Beach towards Bondi.

IMG_0991

Bondi means “tumbling water” or “water breaking over rocks” in local Aboriginal language.  Bondi Beach was by far the largest and the most crowded.  It was nice but maybe not quite right for me.  Below is Bondi as I approached it from Bronte.

IMG_1002

My reward for making it all the way to Bondi was a delicious pot of chai made with soymilk, and honey on the side at Gertrude and Alice Bookstore Cafe.  It was the perfect end to a lovely day.

IMG_1005IMG_1006

Three Blue Ducks: 143 Macpherson Street, Bronte, NSW

Gertrude & Alice Bookstore Cafe: 46 Hall Street, Bondi Beach, NSW

*I took bus #396 from Flinders Street (near Oxford) in Darlinghurst.

 

RELATED POSTS:

Spit to Manly Walk

This entry was posted in 2013, Australia, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Maroubra to Bondi Beach Walk

  1. lunasealife says:

    Wow, wow, wow. Gorgeous!!! Makes me miss California!

  2. rebeccaline says:

    Hi, i was wandering if it is okay if i borrow a few of your pictures from this blog post for a small danish blog (my own personal travelblog). I took the walk from Coogee to Bondi last year myself, but my camera was stolen and the few pictures i have left are really bad. I will link back to you of course 🙂 i hope it is all right

    http://verdenerminlegeplads.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

