Taronga Zoo to Balmoral Beach Walk

I honestly can’t remember the last time I went to a zoo, and I went back and forth about whether to visit Featherdale or the nearby Taronga Zoo.  I’d seen kangaroos, wallabies, and echidnas in the wild in Tasmania, but I’d never seen a platypus or a koala up close.  Should I go?  Should I not?

In the end I decided that I didn’t want to see animals in captivity, but instead spend the day walking from Taronga Zoo to Balmoral Beach.  So on a cloudy day last week (perfect walking weather) I set off to the other side of the harbor.  Another walk!  Woo Hoo!

IMG_1221

It was pretty dark and gloomy when I got on the ferry to Taronga Zoo

IMG_1222

A tiny little bit of blue sky peeking through

This was as close to the zoo as I got.

IMG_1223

I’m still not used to this view after six week of living in Sydney.  This was the start of my long walk to Balmoral Beach.

IMG_1224

Bradleys Head already!

IMG_1227 IMG_1228 IMG_1229

On to Chowder Head!

IMG_1231 IMG_1233

Who do we have here?

IMG_1235 IMG_1241 IMG_1244 IMG_1247

I know that you can’t make out the greenish yellow snake slithering in the leaves here but this guy had my heart jump out of my chest.  He was quite big and when I first spotted him more than half of his body was outside of the hole.  I only composed myself long enough to take these photos when he started to move backwards into the hole.

IMG_1248

Then with just his little head poking out he stared right at me for a while.  I swear we locked eyes…  goosebumps!  goosebumps!

IMG_1249

It was a quiet and solitary walk, and after I saw that snake I wished I had some people around me…

IMG_1250 IMG_1251

Chowder Bay!

IMG_1262

Walked up the stairs next to Ripples on Chowder Bay and kept going… to find more creatures- this time, under my feet.

IMG_1267 IMG_1268 IMG_1273 IMG_1276 IMG_1277

My “Animal Kingdom” themed walk continued, with the feathered variety showing up to greet me.  I also saw two bunny rabbits but they quickly hopped away.IMG_1281 IMG_1285 IMG_1286

I took a brief pause at George’s Head Lookout.

IMG_1288  IMG_1294 IMG_1291IMG_1292 IMG_1296

I thought about having lunch at Burnt Orange but it didn’t feel quite right.  I was in my walking clothes and everyone in the dining room were in their “country club” clothes.  And their picnic kiosk was closed so I munched on some snacks (I had carrots in my backpack- LW, you knew that I would) and pressed on towards Balmoral Beach.

IMG_1300 IMG_1305

Down these steps to Balmoral Beach!  There was a woman running up and down, I saw her twice when I was on the steps.  She was really skinny.

IMG_1309

I loved these giant ferns unfurling themselves out.

IMG_1310

I’m here!  I’m here!  Just as I reached Balmoral Beach (right after I saw these surf boards), the sky turned bright blue as if it was just waiting for me to get there.

IMG_1312

Like that!

IMG_1320

When I was walking down those stairs I knew that I’d have to climb up a very steep hill eventually…  and I did.  I could have taken the Mosman shuttle but I missed it by seconds.  oh, well.

IMG_1324

As always, I was very nice to myself after this looooooong walk.  But no, it wasn’t a cheeseburger and no, I didn’t have a beer.  That’s just water in that brown bottle.

IMG_1327

at The Penny Royal in Mosman

But I treated myself to a great cup of coffee at The Source Espresso and just one little (OK, not so little) chocolate meringue from La Banette.

IMG_1330

The Source Espresso, Mosman

IMG_1334 IMG_1335

I didn’t get to see any koalas or marsupials, but I had my own close encounters with Australian nature and its inhabitants during my walk.  Not bad for skipping the zoo outing, right?  Thinking about that snake still sends a chill down my spine!

 

The Penny Royal: Rear shop 2, 563 Military Road, Mosman, NSW

The Source Espresso: 914 Military Road, Mosman, NSW (it’s actually on Raglan Road off of Military Road).  247 bus stop right in front of the cafe.

La Banette: Yummy bakery across the street from The Source.  I popped in to get a chocolate meringue while waiting for the 247 bus.  3a/916-920 Military Road, Mosman NSW

Taronga Zoo Ferry: Leaves from Circular Quay wharf 2, every 30 minutes.

Mosman Rider: Free community shuttle bus runs loops around Mosman every 30 minutes, from 8AM to 6PM.  There are two routes, north & south.  It comes to Balmoral Beach, right by the Bathers’ Pavilion if you want to take it up to Mosman.  I walked to Mosman via Mandolong Road.

*M30 bus from Spit Junction near Military Road brought me back to the city, to QVB.

This entry was posted in 2013, Australia, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taronga Zoo to Balmoral Beach Walk

  1. lunasealife says:

    When I saw the first sentence I was like, “ooooh, nooo, zoos are so depressing!” I’m glad you didn’t go, this was much more joyful!!! 😉 And I found the snake!

    So, uh, water in brown bottles… is that an Aussie thing?? 😉

Leave a Reply

