Aoyama Cemetery

Whenever I head north towards Gaienmae or Shinjuku, I end up walking along side 青山霊園 Aoyama reien (Aoyama cemetery).  The first weekend I was in Tokyo I could see that there were still some sakura (cherry blossom) peaking around the cemetery but because I was on my way to meet a friend I couldn’t stop for more than a few minutes.

IMG_3215

After meaning to visit for so many weeks, I finally made it over to this large but quiet cemetery the other day.  With the Roppongi Hill’s Mori building towering over nearby, I could really see and feel the new Tokyo peacefully co-existing with the old.

IMG_4324 IMG_4327

I saw a stray cat lingering around and a few people walking their dogs, but I was alone for the most part.

IMG_4331

Aoyama Cemetery is quite big and I’m told that it’s a great place to appreciate the famous Japanese cherry blossoms when they flower.  I definitely missed its peak by a week this time but maybe I’ll return for the autumn foliage…

IMG_4335 IMG_4336

I know that there are famous Japanese who are laid to rest here (Hachiko‘s master is also buried at this cemetery) and there is a separate section for foreigners.  But I didn’t look for anyone in particular.

IMG_4329

I don’t know the name of this cemetery but I just happened to see it one day when I was walking to Ebisu through the back streets of Hiroo.  It was much smaller and more modest than the Aoyama cemetery, but I thought it was lovely.

IMG_4512

RELATED POSTS:

An Afternoon Amongst the Dead: Chacarita Cemetery

Cementerio de la Recoleta

This entry was posted in 2013, Japan, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

