Azalea Festival at Nezu Shrine

つつじ tsutsuji is a Japanese word I learned two weeks ago.  Tsutsuji means azalea.  When I add the word まつり matsuri (festival) it becomes a funny tongue twister.  Well, it does for me anyway.  つつじまつり tsutsujimatsuri.  I tried saying that fast a few times on the subway ride up to Nezu-jinja (Nezu shrine) to see the azaleas in bloom.  tsutsujimatsuri, tsutsujimatsuri, tsutsujimatsuri.

IMG_4361IMG_4427

Nezu shrine isn’t one of the well-known places in Tokyo and from what I understand, almost no one visits it except during the annual azalea festival.  I had never been there before and had to look it up before heading out, but once I got out of the subway station it was very clear to me which way I needed to go.  There were signs all along the street, but I simply followed the crowd over to the shrine.

IMG_4362

The shrine was packed with visitors who’d all come to see the azaleas in their pink glory.

IMG_4382IMG_4384

Everyone had their cameras, tablets, and mobile phones out taking photos of themselves and the flowers.  Of course I did the same…

IMG_4963

I walked under these series of vermilion colored torii gates that lined the courtyard of the shrine.  They made me think of the large installation art piece called “The Gates” in New York’s Central Park in the winter of 2005.  I wondered whether Christo and Jean-Claude, the artists took inspiration from these Japanese gates.

IMG_4419

IMG_4414

The festival goers prayed and made offerings for their wishes.

IMG_4417 IMG_4416

I made a small offering of my own, grateful for all the good fortune in my life.  I pulled the thick rope to ring the bell to ask the spirits to hear my prayer.

IMG_4386

It was so nice and tranquil by the temple that it surprised me to see all these vendors and tents in the lower part of the shrine grounds.

IMG_4387

I guess it’s not truly a festival without food!  There was yakitori, okonomiyaki, takoyaki, oden, ice cream, chocolate covered bananas, and more.

IMG_4394 IMG_4396 IMG_4399 IMG_4403 IMG_4407

While you’re at the festival why not shop for some socks and undergarments, too?

IMG_4412IMG_4411

Throw in a game of scooping out little goldfish and you have yourself a real festival.

IMG_4402

And I thought it was just about these azaleas in bloom…

IMG_4845

Tsutsujimatsuri!

Nezu Shrine: 1丁目-28-9 Nezu, Bunkyo, Tokyo (map); tsutsujimatsuri at Nezujinja usually runs for about a month each year in April/May.  This year (the 44th azalea festival) was held from April 6 to May 6.

This entry was posted in 2013, Japan, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

