Back in Tokyo!

I’m back in Tokyo for two weeks of summer fun.  I left the rainy weather in Korea for a hot and humid one in Japan.  They describe it as 蒸し暑い mushiatsui, which my friend C-san translated as being “sultry” after looking it up in the dictionary.  It’s muggy, soupy, sticky, sweaty, and yes, sultry.  But I can only say I heart Japan!  I really do love it here regardless of what the weather is like.

I had a nice short flight over with this rare view of Mt. Fuji from the plane.  I was ridiculously lucky to have seen it and I took it as a good sign since I’m due to climb this national treasure (recently named a UNESCO world heritage site) next weekend.

IMG_5559 I have a bunch of fun things planned for my short stay, during which my diet will go out the window; I fully expect to pay for my sins for the remainder of the year.  I can’t wait!

This entry was posted in 2013, Japan, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back in Tokyo!

  1. Rooster says:

    Man, the only time I have ever seen Fuji was from the plane. Gotta get down there and climb it!

    • Because it was just named a UNESCO site they are getting record number of climbers this year. I don’t know why I waited this long to do it but I guess it was just how my timing worked out… Then again, my friends did it last summer and they said it was so crowded that it took them double the amount of time they thought it would. We’re doing a shorter route this time and I hope that all will go well. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

