Keeping Flowers Alive: Ikebana

生け花 ikebana is the Japanese art of flower arranging.  I love that the root of the word comes from 生ける meaning alive or to keep alive.  With thoughtful arrangement one gives life to flowers. 

A few months back in April I was in Aoyama and Omotesando, two of my favorite areas in Tokyo.  Without thinking I ended up in Harajuku, a busy area filled with young locals and tourists.  I enjoy “people watching” but to get away from the hustle and bustle a bit (and since I hadn’t been to Meiji Jingu in 15 years) I walked over into the shrine grounds.

It was so nice to have this quiet space in the middle of all the craziness…  I happened to be there around sunset so they were preparing for the end of the day.  I’ll post some of those photos later but this morning I was reminded of the beautiful display of ikebana at the shrine for some reason…

I’ve never done ikebana but from what little I can tell, it takes a lot of practice and deep understanding of the Japanese culture and its aesthetics.  I read that the practice of arranging flowers at a shrine is done as a dedication to the deities to look at and to be entertained.  At Meiji Jingu, ikebana is dedicated four times a year: April 11 (Empress Shoken memorial), May 3 (spring festival), July 30 (Emperor Meiji memorial), and November 3 (Emperor Meiji’s birthday).  These arrangements were for the divine spirits (and as I was there in April, it was for the Empress), but I was delighted and awed to see them myself.

I could feel the subtle tension and movement between the branches…  See the differences in height, reach, and length between the two as if there is a flow of energy, a give and take?

IMG_4665The asymmetry and the spacial relationship is simple yet stunning…

IMG_4666 Doesn’t it feel as if these flowers are indeed alive?

IMG_4667Honestly, I couldn’t take my eyes off of these arrangements.  There were at least a dozen in display and I must have spent at least half an hour just staring them.

I think back to the year I spent living in Tokyo back in my early 20’s, and kick myself a little for not learning more about the Japanese culture and its traditions then.  Sure I was working and maybe I was too young…  ah, that was just the way it was.

I’m here now, so thankful and lucky to see all this beauty.

This entry was posted in 2013, Japan, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

