Brrrr

It’s winter in New York City.  After enjoying a full month of warm and sunny weather in California, it was tough to wake up this morning and see the thermostat read 9 degrees with “feels like” temperature of -4.  That’s -12 degrees and -20 Celsius.  Brrrr is brrr in both Fahrenheit and Celsius, n’est-ce pas?

For the past few years I managed to escape the cold months by spending time in India, Argentina, Australia, and Panama.  I’ve been lucky enough to get myself away this year to Northern and Southern California, with K in San Francisco and my parents recently moving to Orange County near LA.

Northern California in December (it wouldn’t be San Francisco without fog!)

IMG_2637 IMG_2653Southern California, pretty much all year round

IMG_2664 IMG_2670I don’t miss New York when I’m traveling elsewhere.  But as soon as I start walking around this big city, I wonder why I’ve been away for so long.  I do love this place.  Most days when I’m not here, I read the New York Times digitally but I think there is something really wonderful about actually going through the physical paper.  So this morning, I embraced the arctic winds to find a cozy cafe and took a leisurely breakfast.  It was nearly lunch time when I finished the whole paper and walked back out to brave the weather.

IMG_2689I had great fun watching a stream of New Yorkers speed walking while holding various cups containing hot beverages, carrying brief cases (or giant purses, gym bags, yoga mats, groceries, etc), and simultaneously texting/chatting on the phone.  Everyone is in a hurry, they all have so much to do!  I don’t know why but I loved seeing everyone all bundled up and waddling around.  You should see how cute all the little ones are, small round puff balls practically rolling down the street.  Maybe it was a sense of belonging, for being back at “home.”  It felt good to be here with everyone in the cold.  I too, dressed like the Michelin man, walked quickly around slow-moving tourists and navigated between wide strollers.  I’m a New Yorker after all.

IMG_2694

This entry was posted in 2015, Travel, USA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brrrr

  1. George says:

    when are you going to finish Spain!!!!!!

  2. Celia says:

    I loved NYC when I went in summer… not sure I could handle the cold though!
    Tokyo’s the same in that everyone’s in a hurry. It’s easy to get caught up in the rush but it’s nice to just sit and watch the world go by every once in a while!

  3. Time to come and enjoy the sun in Dubai !

Leave a Reply

