Textile Museum of Oaxaca

Here is another little gem of a museum in Oaxaca that I visited multiple times during my month-long stay. Maybe it’s because I grew up watching my Mom sew, embroider, and knit, but I am fascinated by textile art. Whenever I was in centro my feet would automatically head towards the textile museum to take a closer look at a few huipiles and marvel at their beauty.

IMG_4720The pieces they have on display are from various regions of the state of Oaxaca and the flow of the rooms (or the staff will direct you) have you follow in a chronological order.

IMG_4707

Often times I was the only one in the museum so the staff trailed me from room to room.

IMG_4708 Each indigenous group has its own distinct designs and patterns, and different ways of stitching. The museum shop has a poster that shows all the different huipiles and dresses from various regions of Oaxaca. On a side note, the textile pieces they have for sales are expensive, but gorgeous and of great quality.

IMG_4711

IMG_4713 IMG_4714 IMG_4715 IMG_4716 IMG_4717 IMG_4718Every time I went I would find something else to stare at for a while.

IMG_4719 On Wednesdays at 17:00 they’re supposed to have a guided tour but there was never enough people (minimum of 5 visitors) to hold one. I kept showing up every week asking about the tour and the same security guard would shake his head to tell me to try again the next week. Sadly, it wasn’t meant to be…

IMG_4709They also offer textile workshops where you learn to dye fabrics or weave. Again, my timing was off and I was never able to take a class. Maybe next time?!

 

Museo Textil de Oaxaca: Exconvento de San Pablo Hidalgo 917, Centro, Oaxaca, Mexico

 

This entry was posted in 2015, Mexico, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

